Leave a comment

Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

A stained glass window inside the main prayer hall of the mosque

I don't know why I had ended up leaving it so long, but I hadn't visited one of the main landmarks of Muscat – the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque. I can see it from my window, so I'd not an excuse in sight. Well, apart from being busy exploring further afield. I find that we never explore attractions close to where we live and always travel to see other sights. The fact that the call to prayer from the mosque still wakes me up at around 05:15 every now and then should have acted as a reminder that it was beckoning!

Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

The grounds to the mosque are stunning and as should be expected in the Sultanate, immaculately maintained. You wouldn't believe that only a few hundred meters away is the main highway running from Muscat all the way to the UAE.

Inside the main prayer hall of Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

Archways leading to the cleansing rooms to wash your feet before praying

The mosque itself is a wonder in it's own right, housing once the world largest chandelier at 14m! Not only did the Sultanate break one record when the mosque was finished, it also has the worlds largest rug… yep, it's that exciting! Although the cool bit is that there is no hope of stealing the rug as it is woven around the central pillars inside the hall. It really is an amazing place and certainly somewhere I need to get back to.

(I still look out of my windows every night at the mosque when lit up, appreciating it as a work of art)

 

Le grande chandelier de la mosque

A small alcove at the head of the prayer hall

A second stained glass window casting light at the front of the mosque

Leave a Reply

